2020 Scholarship Winners

Alliance for Women in Media Announce 2020 Scholarship Award Winners

Each year, The Dallas Area Alliance for Women in Media Foundation, Inc. awards three scholarships totaling $12,000. Two $5,000 scholarships are in the names of Irene Runnels, a distinguished and respected Dallas broadcaster and Paula McStay, a former Fort Worth advertising executive. One $,2000 Essay scholarship is in the name of Judy Miller, who was an outstanding and treasured advertising executive that served in the DFW Metroplex. Applicants are considered on the basis of educational and career goals in their major field of study, activities and honors, service to community and references. The scholarships are acknowledged at the Dallas Area Alliance for Women in Media Foundation Award of Excellence Gala each year.

Alexandra Rojas – Judy Miller Student Media Tour Essay Winner - $2,000

Alexandra Rojas is a rising senior at the University of Texas at Arlington studying Advertising and Broadcast Communications. Her interest in media production began when she joined a short film club in high school, and she has been enthusiastic to learn more ever since. At UTA, Alex is involved with several organizations on campus, including the American Advertising Federation, which is where she first learned about the Student Media Tour. Alex loves being a part of the UTA community and after graduating, hopes to work for NBC5 here in Dallas-Fort Worth. 

Meilyn Acevedo – Irene Runnels/Paula McStay scholarship recipient - $5,000 

Meilyn Acevedo is an El Salvadorian native who has lived in the DFW area for the past 20 years. She is a first generation college student who learned to speak English at age 5, graduated in the top 10% of her high school class and is currently on the Dean’s list and President’s list at the University of North Texas. Meilyn will graduate from UNT in the fall of 2020 with a Bachelors of Arts in Advertising.   

Her passion to inspire women to never let anything hold them back from achieving a career. She is thankful for her faith in God and the numerous prayers from friends and family members, which have supported her throughout her life’s journey. 

Caroline Biggers – Irene Runnels/Paula McStay scholarship recipient - $5,000 

Caroline Biggers is studying Strategic Communication and minoring in Film Studies and General Business at Texas Christian University. She is a member of the John V. Roach Honors College and has been named to the Dean’s List for the Bob Scheiffer College of Communication. Caroline plans to enter the field of media or communications utilizing her skills in photography and videography.    

The 37th Annual AWM Awards of Excellence Gala recognizing the scholarship recipients and top DFW media professionals will be held on Thursday, August 20, 2020 at the Dallas Hyatt Regency Hotel. For more information about the gala, go to 

Alliance of Women in Media is a national, nonprofit organization of men and women who work in the media and allied fields. Founded in 1951 as American Women in Radio and Television, AWM (formerly American Women in Radio and Television) is proud to represent men and women engaged in all aspects of creating high-quality media and related services. AWM harnesses the promise, passion and power of women in all forms of media to empower career development, engage in thought leadership, and drive positive change for our industry and societal progress.