Dallas Area Alliance for Women in Media Foundation


The Dallas Area Alliance for Women in Media Foundation, Inc. will award three scholarships totaling $12,000 in the names of Irene Runnels, a distinguished and respected Dallas broadcaster and Paula McStay, a former Fort Worth advertising executive. These scholarships, available in early 2021, will be administered through the University Financial Aid Office and must be applied toward undergraduate or graduate tuition only.

The Irene Runnels-Paula McStay $5,000 college scholarships will be awarded to two students attending a Texas public or private university that offers radio, television, film, public relations, advertising/communications or broadcasting as the major emphasis of study. Applicants will be considered on the basis of educational and career goals in their major field of study, activities and honors, service to community and references.

Student Media Tour Scholarship

Register and participate in the Student Media Tour along with providing a brief essay for an opportunity to win a $2500 scholarship awarded at the AWM Gala in 2021. Essay should be why you would like to participate in the Student Media Tour and how the scholarship will benefit you. The essay should be single spaced between 250-500 words in Times New Roman with 1in margins. Please submit all essays to Jodie Warner at [email protected]

These scholarships will be acknowledged at the Dallas Area Alliance for Women in Media Foundation Award of Excellence Gala in 2021.

 Click here for more info.